The Midwest Prep League was founded in the spring of 2000. The original six league members were Culver Academies(IN), Gilmour Academy(OH), Lake Forest Academy(IL), Park Tudor School(IN), Shady Side Academy(PA)and St. Francis High School(NY). Since it's inception, the league has grown to ten Division 1 level Prep School Teams. The objective of the MPHL to provide colleges with well-prepared student athletes that succeed in the college hockey environment. The league has maintained a competitive level of play throughout the USA and Canada over its history and many former MPHL players are on Junior and University rosters around the country.

The Midwest Prep Hockey League is truly North American. Boasting teams in the USA, and in Canada, the MPHL stretches from Chicago, Illinois in the west to Rothesay, New Brunswick in the east with all points in between. All league members have a like minded approach to both academics and hockey. All ten league members also play games outside of the MPHL.

The schedule is comprised of a kick-off weekend in October or November, with the five Malloy Division teams playing the five Bowers Division teams over the course of the three days. During the next three months, each team will play the members of its own division twice, as well the league will also cross over one more time in January, allowing for an 18 game balanced regular season. February marks the league playoffs, because the regular season is balanced teams are ranked 1-10. The final weekend is an 10 team bracketed playoff single elimination tournament.
Cheat Sheet for Officials & Scorekeepers
MPHL Guidelines & Rules

MPHL Guidelines as of 2.7.24.doc
Uploaded: 2024-02-07